CII Elects New Board, Names Florida SBA Executive
Director & CIO Ashbel Williams Chair

Washington, D.C., March 14, 2018—The Council of Institutional Investors (CII) has elected a new board of directors for 2018-19, and named Ashbel Williams, executive director and CIO, Florida State Board of Administration (SBA), board chair. In keeping with CII’s bylaws, Williams was elected chair by CII’s public fund members.

CII is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association of pension funds, other employee benefit funds and endowments, and a leading voice for effective corporate governance and strong shareholder rights. CII’s voting members have collectively more than $3.5 trillion in assets under management. CII’s associate members include a range of asset managers with more than $25 trillion in assets under management.

CII members also elected board officers, including co-chairs Mary Francis, corporate secretary and chief governance officer, Chevron Corp.,* and John Keenan, corporate governance analyst, AFSCME Employees Pension Plan. The treasurer is Scott Zdrazil,* senior investment officer—corporate governance, Los Angeles County Employees Retirement Association. The secretary is Cambria Allen, corporate governance director, UAW Retiree Medical Benefits Trust.

Other members of the CII board for 2018-19 are:
Jerry Albright, CIO, Teacher Retirement System of Texas*
Ron Baker, interim executive director, Colorado Public Employees’ Retirement Association*
Mary Collins, trustee, District of Columbia Retirement Board
Michael Garland, assistant comptroller, corporate governance and responsible investment, New York City Pension Funds
Renaye Manley, deputy director, strategic initiatives department, Service Employees International Union (SEIU)*
Aeisha Mastagni, portfolio manager, California State Teachers’ Retirement System (CalSTRS)
Thomas McIntyre, international representative, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers*
Hope Mehlman, chief governance officer and assistant corporate secretary, Regions Financial*
Jennifer Peet, corporate governance director, Office of the Oregon Treasurer and Oregon Public Employees Retirement Fund*
TerriJo Saarela, corporate governance director, State of Wisconsin Investment Board

*new board members


Click for PDF version. For media inquiries, please contact CII Editor Rosemary Lally.